Alegerile parlamentare din 2021 în Republica Moldova -

General Information on election of President of the Republic of Moldova 2009

After the Constitution of the country was modified in 2000, this election will be the forth electoral competition to try elect a chief of state. Under Article 78 of Constitution and Law #1234-XIV from 22.09.2000 concerning the procedure of election of the President of the Republic of Moldova, the chief of state shall be elected by Parliament through a secret voting. Citizens entitled to vote who turned 40 years old, resided or permanently reside the Republic of Moldova for at least 10 years, speak the state language and are supported/nominated by at least 15 members of the Parliament are eligible for the office of chief of state. Under a decision by the Constitutional Court, at least two candidates shall run for elections, and at least 61 members of the Parliament shall attend (register for) the Parliament sitting in order to be deliberative, otherwise the election will be invalid and repeat elections shall be held (Constitutional Court Decision #4 from 26.12.2000).

The candidate who garners the votes of 3/5 lawmakers (61 out of 101 members of the legislature) shall be declared winner, otherwise a runoff vote shall be organised within three days and the first two candidates chosen in a decreasing order of the number of ballots won in the first round of election shall participate in the runoff vote. In the event no candidate wins the necessary votes, repeat elections shall be organised within 15 days. In the event a President of Moldova is not elected after repeat elections, the incumbent president shall dissolve the Parliament and set new parliamentary elections.

The Parliament elects a chief of state since 2000, after the Constitution was modified on summer 2000 and first three attempts to elect a chief of state failed in December 2000 and early parliamentary elections were held. PCRM leader Vladimir Voronin was elected chief of state on April 4, 2001with 71 votes of the PCRM lawmakers. Four years later, on April 4, 2005, Vladimir Voronin was re-elected chief of state with 75 votes of the Communists, Christian-Democrats, Democrats and Social-Liberals. In accordance with the Constitution (Article 80), a person cannot run more than two consecutive mandates of chief of state.