Alegerile parlamentare din 2019 în Republica Moldova -

General Information on the 2009 Parliamentary Elections

Date of electionsApril 5, 2009
Type of electionsParliamentary Elections
Electoral threshold for
political parties6%
electoral blocksnot allowed by legislation
independent candidates3%
Voter turnout to validate election »»»
Number of electoral contestants
political parties12 (15-3)
electoral blocksnot allowed by legislation
independent candidates(6-1)
Voter turnout »»»
Seats distribution

The April 5, 2009 parliamentary elections were the 5th electoral race of this kind after the independence of the Republic of Moldova was declared. As many as 1,977 polling stations were opened for elections, of which 33 within diplomatic missions and consular offices of Moldova to other countries. Twenty-one electoral contestants (15 political parties and 6 independents) were initially registered but four of them (3 parties and an independent candidate) left the campaign and supported other runners. The legality of the April 5 elections was contested by many electoral candidates and the election results fuelled massive protests, which turned into clashes between protesters and police on April 7, with protesters storming the Parliament and Presidency buildings later, destroying them and setting on fire some offices in the Parliament.

Requested by the incumbent chief of state, the Constitutional Court decided on April 12, 2009 to recount the ballot papers from April 5, 2009, granting a 9-day term for this purpose. The votes were recounted on April 15 in all polling stations nationwide. Despite some breaches and mistakes, their number could not change the distribution of seats in the Parliament and the Constitutional Court validated the April 5, 2009 parliamentary elections on April 22, neglecting applications by the opposition parties (PL, PLDM and AMN) to consider their contestations and declare the elections as null. According to the recount data, 1,556,244 voters participated in the elections that mean a turnout of 57.55 percent (compared with 58.36 percent recorded initially). The “strange” circumstances established after the recounting included a difference of 21,599 electors registered on voter rolls and a difference of 16,888 voters included in supplementary lists.

According to the final results of the April 5, 2009 elections, four parties crossed the 6-percent electoral threshold and got a respective number of seats in the Parliament: PCRM garnered 49.48 percent (60 seats); PL — 13.13% (15 seats); PLDM — 12.43% (15 seats) and AMN — 9.77% (11 seats). Vladimir Voronin (PCRM) was elected chairman of the Parliament and cumulated this office with that of President of Moldova, while two PCRM members, the lawmakers Vladimir Turcan and Grigori Petrenco were elected deputy chairmen of the Parliament. An office of deputy speaker was vacant, as the opposition factions did not want to nominate any candidate.

The procedure of election of a new chief of state by the Parliament developed within three sittings and none of PCRM candidates garnered the necessary majority of 61 votes after two unsuccessful attempts. The election sittings themselves were invalidated because of a lack of quorum (the opposition legislators did not attend them). In consequence, the Constitutional Court ascertained on June 12, 2009 that the non-election of the President of Moldova is a circumstance to dissolve the 17th Legislature of Moldova. On June 10, PCRM legislators awarded a vote of confidence to the Cabinet of Ministers Greceanii II. On June 15 the incumbent President of Moldova issued the decree on dissolution of the Parliament and set early parliamentary elections for July 29, 2009.